Four new, a little larger

December 27, 2006 at 1:21 pm (art)

These are drawings that are 7 x 10 inches and are watercolor, pencil, and gouache on paper with my personal writings incorporated. I’m thinking about movement and touch, about being alone and living in “ordinary time” (what the Church refers to as the space in between holy days; it was always my favorite time as a kid).

untitled-1a.jpg
This one has collage in it – “things that fly,” like airplanes and birds and bats.

bedrooma.jpg
This is the first drawing I’ve ever made that I’ve shared with anyone in the last few years that doesn’t have figures in it. It was hard for me to make something without figures. I feel like the movement created by the white watercolor being piled up on the gouache (ie, the floor) is a stand-in for a figure; a surrogate.

strugglea.jpg
In this one, I’m doing much the opposite of what I did with the last: I chose a floor that is opaque gouache and perfectly still so that the writhing figure is more what you see.

hanginga.jpg
‘Struggling’ and ‘hanging’ or ‘suspension’ are words I keep coming back to over and over in my work and have now for a few years. There is this tension for me between really wanting silence and stillness and really fearing it; between courting awkwardness and hesitation and also hating all that stuff. I think this is where this theme comes from.

2 Comments

  1. Pablo Velez said,

    The first painting is the one I told you in class that I liked. I love the “things that are flying” but I mostly like the little figurines around the house. There is a sense of movement and I like figure/ground relationship with the open white spaces. The whole composition really catches my eye.
    And after looking at these for a while I like the last one a lot too. I love the colors, the web thing and the their little bodies. It’s just great. The only bad thing is that I can’t really read what it says in both paintings…..anyway, great work I wish I could buy one. But they are not in my price range…ha ha ha. I can’t really afford any kind of art right now. But I really plan to invest in art in the future…and mostly thanks to your Kitsch class.

  2. amywilson said,

    awww, thanks so much for your comments, pablo!!! please take my “altered states” class next year!! it’s really fun and i’d love to have you along for it. and thank you so much for your feedback on my work.

    i just have to work on being fully awake at 9am and things will get really going in class…!! luckily, next year’s class is at a later time slot, thank goodness…

Leave a Reply

