Bugs (sort of).

January 6, 2007 at 10:26 am (Uncategorized)

So naturally:

Just as soon as the art-blogging bug bit me, so did another kind of bug: A stomach bug, and an absolutely fierce one at that. I’ve been sick for days, just laying in bed and watching the last little bits of winter break pass me by. Not fun.

I was reminded of when I was a child and I would get sick. I was often sick growing up; nothing serious, but colds and flus and bronchitis and that sort of thing. I remember just laying bundled up on the couch with the TV turned low, half-asleep and half-watching, and entertaining myself with all sorts of random, vivid stories of adventures and intrigue that brought me miles away from that couch and that tv.

I’ve been doing much the same thing for the last few days: Laying in bed, bundled up, with my mind reeling. My body has been down for the count, but my brain keeps ticking and mostly it’s thinking about art.

I’ve been thinking about artists who work with the body as a subject matter, primarily Bruce Nauman and Francesca Woodman, both of whose work has come back to me over and over the last few days, like I’m being chased by it. I’ve been thinking of SecondLife and the “new body” or “end of the body” that it offers as a promise and a tease. And I’ve been thinking about drawing little girls that turn into forests and cobwebs and furniture, blurring the space between that which lives and that which does not.

Yeah. And mostly, I’ve been puking and running a fever and feeling miserable. But I should be back on my feet and back in the studio in a couple of days.

3 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    I hope that you feel better. It sounds like you’re keeping busy even though you’re sick. Normally when I’m sick, all I can do is have fever dreams about the end of the world.

    I saw a show of Bryan Crockett’s work at Lehmann Maupin that reminds me of the idea of bodies assimilated into nature and the inanimate. Sounds very mythic, like Daphne or Arachne.

    Oh, I saw this artist’s silkscreen prints that made me think instantly of the bird story from the park:
    http://www.pushmepullyoudesign.com/dodo.php
    http://www.pushmepullyoudesign.com/moa.php

  2. amywilson said,

    thanks for your good wishes. i’m feeling better and off to teach drawing this morning… a rainy, miserable day, but so it goes.

    thank you for the links. it’s always so strange when artists who don’t know each other are drawn to such a specific image. i can’t really explain it.

    and hey: am i supposed to be responding to comments? i haven’t figured it out yet. what is the blog ettiquette??:)

  3. Andrew said,

    Not sure about the “blog ettiquette.” But I think you should do whatever you want. It is your blog.

Leave a Reply

