Little abject heads

January 11, 2007 at 10:21 pm (art, interesting, personal)

I get stuck on certain images (um, see the post “Variations” for more) and one that I’m currently stuck on is this: A disembodied head, eyes closed, with a hankerchief wrapped around its head. I keep drawing different versions of it and now I just made this quick, little sculpture:

jan1107a.jpg

Together, they’re about 1 1/2 inch across, so they’re really tiny.

When I was a kid, I used to love to find little broken, forgotten things – old toys being thrown out, that sort of thing. And I used to love to take them home and make them “get better” by bandaging them up and caring for them like they were sick. I’ve been thinking about that a lot as I draw this image over and over; about this weird impulse to comfort something that’s been “hurt” – even if it’s an inanimate object and can’t be hurt or comforted.

I like the way these heads turned out. I wanted them to be a little fucked up and I purposely smudged the eyes (actually, I drew the eyes in with charcoal because I knew I wanted to smudge them, and then the charcoal played along nicely). Even though I knew from the start that I was going to be putting little hankerchiefs around their heads, it felt like I was giving them comfort and helping them to rest.

I decided as I was writing this that I wanted to do something else with them and as it happens, I have a few of these cool little wooden boxes that I bought a few months ago and don’t know what to do with. I know I want to try and do a sort of Lucas Samaras-type thing, but other than that? No idea. Not something adorable like Joseph Cornell, but Samaras isn’t quite right either.

Anyway, this is all a roundabout way of saying that I put them in the little box, and I like them like this. This is truly something I would have done as a kid – put them away in a felt-lined box, so that they would be safe.

jan1107b.jpg

It’s a step in the right direction for the boxes, but I’m still not sure.

1 Comment

  1. Andrew said,

    It sounds like we shared a similar aspect of childhood. My sisters and I used to “rescue” broken little things and fix them. We were also really poor, so it was out of necessity that we had to be creative and nurse the wounded. We lived in an old house next to a child-care center, so there was no shortage of parts!

    The heads remind me of a post you had on Flickr of the creepy headless pillow-body that your neighbors were throwing out.

Leave a Reply

