An experiment

March 7, 2007 at 8:00 pm (art, culture, drawing, interesting, life, personal, sculpture)

After sitting in my kitchen, staring at my paintings and feeling my head pound (ugh, awful headache, all day), I decided to try something a little different for me.

I make most of my money by selling my artwork. But I also like making work that I can give away for free, like my Armory show pop-up cards. I like the idea of art being a gift and something you can share. But I’ve been wanting to try something somewhere in between selling work and giving it away for free, so I decided to try this.

I made an absolutely tiny drawing and rolled it up into a scroll:

030707e.jpg

And then I built one of my plasticine girls around the drawing:

030707f.jpg

So the drawing is now inside the girl and the clay has been baked. In order to get to the drawing, you have to smash the girl. (I think there might be a metaphor there, but who knows.)

I am offering this piece to the first person who posts to the comments below for the amazing price of $15 plus s&h. Yes!!

I don’t want to take all of this super-seriously. This is just a little thing that I put together very quickly and thought it would be fun to offer on the blog. If there’s a lot of interest, I may offer it again. Let me know if you would like one!! This might be a fun little project to take on… I’ll see what the interest level is and let you know.

Please leave a comment below if you want it! Good luck!!! 🙂

**
Updated: I’ve edited this post since the first time it was put up. My list of “what this is and what this isn’t” seemed to confuse more people than it actually helped, so if you have any questions please just let me know.

3 Comments

  1. Yadir said,

    Everest wants it! Do we win?

  2. Andrew said,

    Blast! That’s so awesome. I would have liked one. I think it beautifully illustrates how sometimes something must be lost in order to have another thing… or to reveal the nature of what is hidden within. Really cool. Let me know if you do it again!

  3. amywilson said,

    yes! yadir and everest get it. (sorry andrew… but stay tuned!)

Leave a Reply

