Catching up

March 13, 2007 at 9:01 am (art, culture, drawing, interesting, life, painting, personal)

I know, for an incessant blogger like myself, it’s been ages.

I’m working on a series of large (for me) drawings and paintings that are very slow going. So there hasn’t been too much progress to show. Here’s a little piece of a drawing:

031307a.jpg

It’s these figures running along a lake, and their bodies are being reflected in the water below. What you’re seeing is just a tiny corner of the overall drawing, so it’s really nowhere near done yet.

I’ve had this weird, pea-soup fog of depression drift over me in the last 24 hours, that has left me wanting to do nothing but draw today. Specifically, I want to draw really simple little drawings that can be done with, and put aside these larger works at least for today. That’s very frustrating to me; I want the larger works done and they’re going so well and I have the time today to whip them into shape, etc. But I think I’m finally at the point where I’m willing to acknowledge that I have to listen to this mood and at least try and accomodate it, even if just for a few hours.

Hm. I think the “insane” ramblings may be back.

More soon, I’ll bet.

3 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    If I’m feeling down or not in the zone, I might as well not even go to the studio. All I end up doing is sitting there, looking at the same pieces for hours and hours and hours. I once spent an entire week, 14 hours a day, sitting and not being able to do anything. I kept trying to tap into the Deeper Well, but it just wouldn’t let me in. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow.

  2. rachelcreative said,

    Hope the fog is lifting. This looks really exciting. Hoping to see more just as soon as it is ready to reveal itself 🙂

  3. japeblaph said,

Leave a Reply

