Evening courses!

January 1, 2008 at 11:49 pm (art, teaching) (, , , , , )

Oh wow. This totally sneaked up on me and I almost forgot all about it…

In addition to the three courses I teach in the undergraduate program at SVA, I’m also going to be teaching two evening classes in the Continuing Ed department if anyone signs up for them. That means I’ll be having sort of a crazy schedule for a few months, but eh. It’s ok. My classes this year have been amazing, so if anything, maybe I’ll just be doubling the amazingness coming my way. (Or that’s my theory.)

I have to say that teaching CE (aka, adult education) is totally different than teaching the undergrads. Figure: during the day, I feel I have a duty and a responsibility to teach the kids something since they’re getting a degree certifying them to be artists and I want them to be well-prepared for the world and so on and so forth. But at night? My responsibility is to see to it that everyone has fun. We’re all adults here, so bring beer to class if you like. Relax, have fun, and learn about art that I love love love.

Here are the CE classes I’m teaching. Enrollment is still very much open.

Under the Influence: Altered States of Consciousness and Art History
AHC-2428-A
TH, Jan 24 – Mar 20
Hours: 06:00PM – 08:00PM
1.50 CEUs; $210.00

This is my art history class about drug/alcohol use, mental/physical illness, and religious visions and how they have all inspired incredible works of art. The structure of the course is that I talk for about an hour/hour and a half (during which time I show slides), then we watch a video relating to the subject of the week. This is a CE, evening class* and as such there are no papers, tests, etc. You show up, I show you slides, we talk for a bit, we watch a video. It was really popular last year and I think everyone had a good time.
(*note that I teach a day school version of this class that is for undergrad credit and DOES require papers, etc. But the evening class doesn’t.)

Expressive Drawing to Music
FDC-2089-A
F, Jan 25 – Feb 29
Hours: 06:00PM – 09:00PM
1.50 CEUs; $210.00

How to explain? Basically, this is a studio class where you will be working from the nude model while I play various sets of specifically chosen music and cheerfully try to help you along. If all goes well and we have the same model from last year, she is an amazing dancer and does incredible interpretative poses to the music. You have the option of having me be really hands-on and help you with your drawings or I can just leave you alone and you can work independently. If you want to share your work with the class that’s great; if not, we will still love you and respect your desire to work privately. Occasionally, I will bring in a live musician and things will get extra awesome. I can’t tell you how much fun this class is… it’s pretty great.

If you are so inclined, go here to register for classes. It would be fun to have you along!

Leave a Reply

