New drawing (2/17/08) and some weird dreams

February 17, 2008 at 3:05 pm (art, blog, culture, drawing, interesting, painting, personal, Uncategorized)

island-9sm.jpg

So the project is coming along, but man is it ever taking the scenic route. I’m at about the half-way mark and getting a little frustrated at it. I might take the rest of the afternoon off from this project and work on something else just to keep my sanity (although this is always a tricky prospect, as it contains the possibility that I might go running off in some other totally different direction. But I think I’m sufficiently invested and also interested in this series to go ahead and cut myself some slack).

Last night, I had a slew of weird dreams. In particular, the themes of zero population growth and housing for the middle class kept re-emerging over and over, which make for some pretty nerdy dreams if you ask me.

Anyway, in one in particular, I was working on this huge drawing in my studio. Part of it came out on a table and part of it hung on the wall… don’t remember the part on the wall but the part on the table was a map of the world. It was really intricately drawn and was some sort of illustration about population density or something along those lines.

My dad (in the dream) came into my studio and looked at the work. He said, “You drew the map wrong.”

This was true – my map was cartoony and distorted; still it was perfectly readable as a map. I pointed this out to him.

“Look, you put Savannah in the wrong place. You should fix it,” he said.

“Dad, it doesn’t matter. It’s art, it’s not geography.”

“Tell that to the people of Savannah!”

And so on, until I got really upset and woke up.

Anyway… if you made it this far in the post, you get a reward (!). One of the things I got back from the gallery yesterday was a slew of my homemade Honey to Ashes books – by far the most requested book project I’ve ever done, and I thought the edition was totally gone. I also plan on working today on assembling the remaining books I gave out at the Miami fairs this year, and also to begin working on an edition to give out when I’m in Prague in a couple of weeks.

So if you feel like outing yourself as a reader of this blog, do so within the next week or so and I will reward your awkwardness by giving you one of the multiples. C’mon – this blog gets like 80 hits a day, who the hell is reading it?!?

4 Comments

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    Where and when are you handing these multiples out? I’d totally be awkward, but hey… this is a mighty tempting reward.

  2. amywilson said,

    email me your address!! i’ll send it your way.

  3. keiko said,

    hi Amy, i found your blog a couple of weeks ago & been enjoying seeing what you’re up to (remember me from AIM?)
    so, can i get one of these multiples too?

  4. amywilson said,

    hi keiko!!! just email me your address and the multiple is yours!

Leave a Reply

