Travel stuff

March 5, 2008 at 10:47 am (art, blog, culture, drawing, painting, personal, thoughts)

Hmmm, so…

I realized that I’m going to be unplugged for nine days – no cell phone/Blackberry, no easy access to email – while I’ll be traveling through Central/Eastern Europe*.

This both excites and frightens me. I’m thrilled yet freaked out.

I’m really excited to see what this trip does for my work. I have this idea that I want to make some books while I’m there, but other than that I’m really open to see what the new experiences bring me. I don’t travel enough… I haven’t been out of the country since high school (is that true?? I hate that, but I think it is… combination of no money + dollar being low + working all the time). So, I don’t know. This trip is a big deal to me.

So I decided I’m not posting anything else til I leave. I’m still working away, but I want to digest a little what I’m doing and think about some things. So… yeah. I’ll try and write in this thing while I’m away, but I’m not sure what the email situation will exactly be.

But I’m excited. Did I say that yet? Also: nervous. That too.

*So, I keep saying “Central/Eastern Europe” without really going into it… that’s because it’s 9 days in Prague which, I’m told by people who have spent time in Prague, might be a little too much time there. I’m entertaining the idea of maybe going to Berlin or Warsaw or some other place after a few days in Prague but I don’t really know. I also really like the idea of hiding in my Czech hotel room and drawing. A lot depends on just how nice that hotel room is, I think. So… yeah. I really don’t know what I’m doing for the next week or so, except that it will involve a hotel room, Europe, and drawing. Hooray!!

1 Comment

  1. Manuel Davenport said,

    Hello! You truly made want to jump on the first flight to Berlin. I like visiting Berlin! Finding wonderful deals for hotels in the city is the fastest with this site , it’s a fantastic site.

Leave a Reply

