Almost there

April 22, 2008 at 7:46 pm (interesting, personal)

The semester is almost done, just a week and a half left. I wrote my last lecture today and put together my final stuff for my drawing classes. I am gnawing at the bit for this thing to be over, only because I have so much of my own work to do and I want to dive right in. My classes this year are probably the best I’ve ever had, so I know I’m going to miss everyone when it’s done… but for right now, all I can do is look in my studio at the huge pile of half-finished drawings and think…. soon, soon…

I’ve been sick the last couple of days too, which doesn’t help.

There is a sheet of notepaper next to my computer onto which I have written all my notes for the last couple of weeks – ideas for work, for classes, stuff I want to write, etc.,- and the list is totally intertwined with a low-grade fever and too much sleep. It reads, in part:

content (same)
other comments
FACULTY SIGNATURES
gocco!!!
underwear!!!
iron-on transfers
liberace
analog to the real world
candyass
garbage pail kids
NEED MORE SCHLOCK
write about it and don’t forget Michael Fried

… yeah, that’s about it in a nutshell. I eliminated the obnoxious underlining, which is something I do when I’m especially earnest about a thought that’s popped into my head. It doesn’t really work because in the end, everything winds up underlined.

Week and a half. Almost there.

Leave a Reply

