New drawing (I wanted so much to have real experiences…)

July 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm (art, culture, drawing, interesting, painting, personal, thoughts)

I really can’t get enough of pop-ups. As frustrating and difficult as the last few weeks have been, I’m still fascinated by them largely for what I take as being their metaphoric possibility – this idea of the world inside the teeny tiny thing, which is completely hidden from view but is beautiful and complex once opened.

I started playing around with origamic architecture this weekend. It’s this incredibly obsessive hobby that involves translating favorite buildings into cut paper; the end result is usually left completely bare white (which actually reminds me a bit of Yuken Teruya’s bag/forests).

Anyway, after trolling the web and looking at one origamic architecture site after another (there’s a ton of them! and each is more jaw-dropping than the last… pretty amazing), I felt pretty sucky about my pop-up skills… and knew I had to get to work.

So here’s the first I finished. It’s a relatively simply one and I’ve painted on the paper, but I think you can see the pop up elements relatively well:

Don’t know if you can tell it from the picture, but there is a tiny door that is actually partially ajar.

One of the things that’s nice about the medium is all this negative space each cut out leaves. I backed the pop up with a sheet of paper painted black with a layer of walnut ink, so that the gaps look like shadows.

The text reads:
I wanted so much to have real experiences. The world just opened up to me there in a way that made me forget I was a part of it. I surrounded myself with things I knew to be alive in order to buffer me from the things I suspected weren’t.

Wanting to take the project a step further, I added an interactive element with the chimney. “Smoke” comes out of it:

It reads: I felt an affinity to cast-offs like smoke through a chimney or just a speck of dust.

Anyway, very exciting to get started on something new! Of course, I have a million ideas… 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Nebulosus Severine said,

    I really like the way you combine profound sentiments in writing with these tiny intricate carvings of paper — the chimney smoke in this one is the coolest part – clever and unexpected!

  2. progledaj1 said,

    very clever. 🙂

  3. Gefecycle said,

    Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

