Drawings for a funnel cloud book

October 25, 2008 at 9:47 pm (art, culture, drawing, interesting, personal)

Slowly but surely I’m getting back to work – it’s still hard; I’m still lacking that kind of great drive that I get, the one that kicks me out of bed early on a Saturday and forces me into the studio because an idea is burning up in my head. I (still) blame it on the election and on all the shit that’s going on in the world which I’ve found to be so distracting, but time rolls on regardless. I gotta get back.

I’ve been tossing around an idea of making a funnel cloud book – a tornado that pops out of the centerfold of a book, like either this:

or this:

The second one looks more like the pictures of funnel clouds I’ve seen online and in books. I tend to think that the first one looks more like a funnel cake than a cloud, but it also seems to have more of that swirling motion built into its shape, so I’m not immediate dispensing with it. The other idea is to just knock the whole thing around so that it’s more like a mushroom cloud, but I like the “act of nature” reference a lot more than the “act of war” one.

So anyway. I’m thinking. That’s a start.

2 Comments

  1. rachelcreative said,

    Wow – how fabulous! Looking forward to seeing how this progresses.

  2. jay said,

    ask me about tornados sometime, i am from kansas you know…. A tornado actually hit my highschool in 1988 and destroyed my first car. My mother called me to tell me that was exactly 20 years ago last week and the local paper did a whole story on it… made me feel real old.

Leave a Reply

