Freebie multiple… fail.

December 1, 2008 at 8:57 pm (Uncategorized)

Wow, I can’t believe I’m about to do this, but I am admitting defeat.

Somewhere between ramping up for the new show, reaching the end of the semester, the holidays, and a million other things, I realized that sitting in my livingroom the night before hopping on a 6am flight, trying to put together an edition of a freebie multiple to give away at the fairs would be… well, not fun. I started this practice – giving away art for free at art fairs – several years ago and it was really fun; as a project, it cost me money and time, but I didn’t care because it was just really fun to give out to strangers this little gift.

I was totally on track to having one version done in time, except that I misjudged the kind of paper that I printed the project on and wound up with a huge stack of totally unusable pieces… then I panicked and tried to pull something else together … and then decided, never mind. I need a break. I have a lot of work ahead of me for the next show that’s just around the corner anyway… can’t get too distracted with this thing that was supposed to be fun but just suddenly isn’t now.

So, yeah. No free multiple this year. Blah.

1 Comment

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    Hmmm… maybe if you have ones left over from your past years, you could give some of those away. This could be your “retrospective freebie” year.

    By the way, I still owe you free food. Though I’ve made the wise decision to leave a stable job during the recession to become a “real artist”… so alas, my fancy sandwich hookup power is nil.

    How about some jewelry instead?

Leave a Reply

