Vines (for the Hunterdon Museum installation)

December 23, 2008 at 10:59 am (Uncategorized)


(The alternative title for this post was “Art takes a really long time.”)

These are some vines that I’m making for my upcoming show – my idea is to have them creeping across the ceiling of the gallery, intermixing with the really cool beams that are part of the museum. It’s taking me forever though – I start by watercoloring green a sheet of computer paper, it dries, then I put walnut ink all over it, that dries, then flip it over and do the same to the back, dries, then slowly make each branch (by twirling a bit of the paper around a bamboo spear and then gluing it) and leaf.

I’m getting faster at it and I have to keep reminding myself it’s only Tuesday.

Ok, gotta hang in there… I’m eager to get to work on an animation and some other more “exciting” projects I have planned, but this will look so great (and fit in really well with the show) once it’s done… I just have to keep the faith…

1 Comment

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    Sounds like you need to recruit some of your SVA students for paper painting, bamboo twirling laborious fun.

Leave a Reply

