Applying for grants

January 24, 2009 at 12:41 pm (art)

Well, I’m finally doing it; I’m finally applying for some grants. I’ve done this sporadically over the last few years, but not in a way that was focused at all. This time I’m taking it more seriously (mostly because my needs have become more serious).

Problem is, of course, there aren’t that many grants to apply to – but at least I’m starting with the Pollock Krasner Foundation. I’ve printed out the five page application many times before, only to stare at it in bewilderment and then chuck it, but this time it’s for real. It’s become crystal clear to me that I simply can’t teach five classes forever because it just grinds me into the dust, but at the same time I need a serious studio equipment upgrade (new computer, new digital camera, etc). I need to slow down my teaching a bit, and then also pour some money into some equipment that will make my life just so much easier. We’ll see. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

