Faith Wilding

March 3, 2009 at 6:21 pm (Uncategorized)

For those of you following the ongoing saga of my 15 Artists/15 Weeks class…

Mary Kelly made the cut (we’re talking about her this week); Judy Chicago did not. It’s an especially tough choice for me because to be honest, I don’t especially like either of their work. For the sake of the course I have to put my opinion to the side and – when push comes to shove – Kelly is without a doubt a very influential artist that many of the students at our school don’t know that much about, and thus she’s in the mix.

But after spending all day writing about Kelly’s work, I arrived back at a thought that I’ve come to over and over during the last few years, which is simply: Why don’t I spend more time with Faith Wilding‘s work? Jesus Christ, talk about your incredibly influential and under-appreciated artists. Her work is amazing and whenever I see it in a group show (usually some “feminist art of the 1970s” roundup) her work is always the one drop-dead piece that totally blows me away.

Anyway…  just had to toss that in. Pulse Fair is here this week and then next week it’s studio(!!!!!) all next week for spring break. I can’t wait.

1 Comment

  1. Faith Wilding said,

    Thanks so much for saying that. I am getting appreciated more–I just got a Guggenheim.
    In solidarity, faith wilding

Leave a Reply

