New work (in progress)

March 8, 2009 at 11:16 pm (art)

n502493918_1466255_78996611

This is what I’ve started to do with my spring break – it’s a large quilt* version of one of my drawings. (*Ok, so – basically the term “quilt” is incorrect – this has no backing and no stitching that attaches the top part to a back. The process used to make this is closer to applique, however I’ve just found that in explaining it to people, most folks don’t know what that is. You say “quilt” and they get it, even if technically it’s a bit off. But whatever.) I’ve been experimenting with making bigger drawings and it’s just not working – from a practical standpoint, working larger than I have on paper makes no sense whatsoever. I don’t have storage; I don’t even really have a table big enough to sprawl out on. The large piece in the Hunterdon Museum show (which is what pushed me to try and experiment working bigger) was made only by rearranging the furniture in our bedroom and moving in there for a week or so – not the best solution.

But cloth? Cloth doesn’t “ding” and it can be folded up at night. Squinky can sit on it without ruining it and without me having a heart attack. And the best part – I can cut it up into little pieces to work on and then stitch those pieces together to make a whole (collaging, basically – only it looks very natural and perfect in a sewn piece and it doesn’t work as well on paper over a large expanse).

Anyway. Just an experiment for now, but will be interesting to see where it goes.

1 Comment

  1. ducksrfriends said,

    I love where this is going…. the tactile nature of fabric and stitching works really well with your designs

Leave a Reply

