New drawing (6/14/09) – updated!

June 14, 2009 at 2:00 pm (art, drawing, painting)

I wrote a post this afternoon about the new 22 x 30 drawing I just finished and my frustrations with photographing it in our apartment, but I managed to actually take a few decent shots between using a good camera and pulling apart my scanner so I could do some closeups.

So! Here it is…

This is a full shot, which I know is not so great:

strawberry-full

And then two closeups:

strawberry2-1

strawberry3-2

5 Comments

  1. Mab MacMoragh said,

    that’s wonderful, i could look at it for hours, love the thread

  2. amywilson said,

    thank you mab! I should mention (since I’m switching up materials a bit these days) that this piece is all cut paper. anyway, don’t know if that was confusing. i’m going to be veering between paper and cloth a lot, I think so i ought to get into the habit of mentioning that…

  3. Neb said,

    Looks great, Amy — very detailed and meticulously done!

  4. Neb said,

    I should mention, also, that I often have difficulty photographing my work as well. It’s really hard to get the lighting right, and my canvases usually reflect light in spots where the paint dries a bit glossy. I usually have to take a million shots and then just clean up the best ones in Photoshop.

  5. Red Flashlight said,

    I feel your pain.
    But this drawing/collage/painting is really neat!

Leave a Reply

