New book: Middle, 2008-9

September 28, 2009 at 6:56 pm (art, blog, books, culture, drawing, interesting, life, personal)

This is a book that I started at least a year ago (may have been longer, I’m not sure) and only completely finished just now. It’s strange for a project of mine to take that long, but this one went through so many different changes as I learned more about book-making and pop up books. There is a real ceiling when you’re making things where your abilities and your ideas sort of clash; for me, that ceiling of ability kept constantly changing (I’d learn something new and it would go soaring up or I’d totally screw up another project and it would scare me enough to basically have it clamp down). And I am really, really trying to find a way to combine this idea of the pop-up, which I absolutely love, with my work so that it’s not just gimmicky or cute but instead refers to this interior space which is infinite.

Anyway. At very long last, here is the book.

The cover:

middle2

Side view:

middle2a

Here is a picture of my gimpy hand opening it (not sure why I always show my hand in these pics but I do so why stop?):

middle3

Inside the cover:

middle4

Then you turn the page and you reach this part you have to assemble:

middle7

So it’s not a pure “pop up” in that you have to do some of the work, but it is incredibly easy to assemble. The five-sided cobweb basically comes out at you and all you have to do is latch the side into a little perforated latch I created. When you do, and interior part naturally falls down and it looks like this from above:

middle5

…and like this from head-on:

middle6

You fold it up to read the rest of the story, but from there on it’s just symmetry in terms of the design part:

middle8

and the last spread:

middle9

I worked like crazy trying to get the hinges on the pages so that it could be opened and assembled over and over and over (100s of times) with no worries about damaging it… and in the end, I think it has to sort of remain a fragile work of art.

Ok, I’m excited! I think this is a big step!!

1 Comment

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    This rocks my world! Like 100 times fifty! Great job! I love the intricate, lace-like shadows.

Leave a Reply

