Memphis

March 21, 2010 at 9:43 am (Uncategorized)

I got a quickie tour of Memphis at night yesterday, right after my plane landed and en route to Oxford, MS. One of the strangest things about it was going to see the Lorraine Hotel, where Martin Luther King was assassinated. What was so strange about it is that had you asked me if I knew what the hotel looked like, I would have said well, vaguely, I guess. But then seeing it there before me (it has be preserved with period cars and the like, as part of the Civil Rights Museum) I realized I knew it so well. It was like seeing a million press photos suddenly pop to life:

Special bonus scene from the airport, completely unrelated:

1 Comment

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    My brother-in-law’s brother and wife live not far from there. There’s a great little artistic community around there with lots of galleries and cafes and bars. While there, I would definitely suggest having dinner at 5 Spot and checking Earnestine and Hazel’s. It used to be an old brothel and is haunted, but is really cool. OH! And there’s a place caddy-corner called, The Cheesecake Corner that has some DELICIOUS goodies. I’m fond of the coconut rum cake… but be forewarned that they use a heavy hand with the rum and you might get drunk off a slice of cake.

Leave a Reply

