I’m back

May 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm (art, blog, personal, Uncategorized)

The semester is almost over (one more day!)! I feel like every year I say this, but this year was the toughest. I try to really challenge myself every academic year to step it up in terms of what I give my students, and balancing that with my own work and my life… well, something has to give. I’m lucky it’s mostly the blog that suffers (and also, the cleanliness/organization of my apartment).

But summer is here now and I want to get back to blogging. In fact, I want to start blogging something every day – maybe not something substantial every day, but at least a few words and a picture or two. And this leads me to another thought I’ve been chewing on for the last few weeks:
More and more, I’m incorporating stories and experiences from my life into my work. I’m very happy with the writing I did with It takes time to turn a space around because I feel like I finally found a way to weave my personal stories in with observations about the “greater” world (politics, news events, etc) in such a way as it actually all makes sense as one big narrative. But then doing that has lead me to wonder if it makes sense for me to blog about art and only art (which has been my goal so far with this blog, not that I’ve always achieved it) and to keep curating out things that I do that are somehow not art, or that I think would be utterly uninteresting to anyone reading my blog.

I promise I won’t start blogging about watching my toenails grow or something like that, but certain things that take up my life/time/mental space and constantly reoccur in my work could make for some interesting blog fodder, I think. Stuff like: my vegetable garden, my experiences in Jersey City, vegan cooking (and why being vegan is so important to me), friends, crafts, news, music, and so on.

Well, it’s an experiment, and we’ll see how it goes. But I’m going to try and blog every day. May 1st seems like a great day to start.

Leave a Reply

