5/6/10: Recycling

May 6, 2010 at 11:29 am (art, Uncategorized)

This is not my apartment; it's a scene from Hoarders on A&E. But honestly? It could be if I ever let it get out of control.

I’m a pack rat. Anyone who knows me, knows this.

But I’m a pack rat because I hate waste, not so much because I want to have a bunch of things around. It bothers me deeply that we throw so much stuff away. I have a problem throwing things away because I hate thinking of the labor and resources that went into making it just being pissed away.

Case in point: the vinyl from my outdoor installation. We’re cutting it up and turning it into tote bags. More on that in a later post, but you get the point: The piece was site specific, so where could I possibly rehang it? Or do I just destroy it? I can’t bear that last option, so recycling it is the way to go.

But another thing that bugs me: I have stacks and stacks of invitations to shows I’ve been in over the years. Beautiful invitations, with really fantastic reproductions of my work on them. I sent out a bunch, but there’s so many left over and now that the show is done, what am I ever going to do with them? Sure, some of them go into an archive, but what to do with the rest of them? There are hundreds.

Anyway. I need craft suggestions. I’m thinking of maybe sewing some together to make… something. The idea in my head is very half-baked right now. Any suggestions?

1 Comment

  1. Siouxsie Law said,

    What about making invitations out of the invitations?

Leave a Reply

