5/15/05 – special bonus post! Escape From NY!

May 15, 2010 at 3:08 pm (art, life, other sites to see, thoughts, Uncategorized)

I just learned about this from the blog Heart As Arena, because the blogger was nice enough (unrelated to what this post is about) to twitter something kind about my work, which sent me over to his blog, which lead me to…

Escape From NY, a really ambitious-sounding exhibition in Paterson, curated by Olympia Lampert. Opens today, but if you’re late to find out about it (as I am), it runs til mid June.

This is a tiny section of the factory they have for the show. It's going to be huge.

I’m a Jersey girl through and through, so I’m generally supportive of anything that happens over here. But this show definitely sounds next level: gigantic, professional, and all-around wonderful. My only fear is that tons of NYers will go and suddenly realize that parts of NJ are a lot closer than parts of Brooklyn, plus that’s seriously nice and also very cheap out here, and this will blow the lid off my ability to walk the dog in the morning with mismatched socks and some serious bedhead without the fear of running into people I know. But I’m willing to take that risk.

A secret between you and me: I’m a little bitter that I’m not in the show. However, that doesn’t dampen my enthusiasm for it and for all the ridiculous amount of labor that had to go into pulling something like this off.

Go Olympia Lampert!!

Leave a Reply

