5/21/10: I have invented dog gatorade

May 21, 2010 at 2:11 pm (dog, interesting, Uncategorized)

That last post was just weird, so let me try and make up for it.

Oscar and I were headed over to the post office to mail off the latest round of tote bags to their new owners when suddenly – and I do mean suddenly – he started exhibiting all the signs of heat stroke. It was scary. Out of nowhere, my energetic young dog was panting so hard it was completely frightening, and refusing to go anywhere and generally looking horrible. I’m new to dog ownership, so this was definitely unexpected (it also was only in the 80s when we went out, and he’s used to zooming around the dog park at top speed at that temp with no trouble).

We got him some water, and almost immediately he was better. I have noticed that he has problems taking in a lot of water – he’s picky with it, and while he does drink enough under normal circumstances, he doesn’t compensate for those times when he’s really running around or when it’s especially hot out. Most of the time when I try to get him to drink a little water when we’re at the park, he looks at me like I’m insane – even though I know that he must be thirsty. The best I can get him to take is a couple of laps, and then he’s done and there’s no convincing him otherwise.

When we got home, it was clear that this dog needed to drink a bunch – he had enough when we took a break from our walk in order to make it home, but now he really needed to take in some more. I showed him his bowl and he wasn’t having it. I gave him an ice cube – one of his favorite things ever – and he wasn’t having that, either. I put the ice cube in the bowl of water… nothing. I offered him some blackberries, which I know have a high water content, and he quickly ate those. Hm.

So I poked around online and found a recipe for a homemade electrolyte beverage, and I started tinkering with it. And what do you know – he LOVES it, and drinks it up the second I put it down (I’ve only been giving him small portions at a time, but I think if I gave it to him freely he would drink cups of it… which is why I’m only giving him small portions). I’m going to try and take it with us to the park later and see if that works better in terms of giving him some added incentive to drink something.

In the meanwhile, if you know anything about dogs, would you take a look at this recipe and tell me if there’s anything immediately horribly wrong about it? Short term, at least, it seems to have worked absolute wonders.

  • 1 qt water
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 banana
  • couple of frozen blackberries

Put everything into a blender and blend away. You have to serve it (remember – it makes a LOT and you’re not going to use very much if you have a small dog like I do) right away or the top gets very, very frothy. If that happens, just blend it some more and then quickly serve. I was giving Oscar about an 1/8th of  cup, then waiting 20 minutes or so and giving him a little more.

1 Comment

  1. Can Dogs Drink Gatorade? Or Is Gatorade For Dogs Bad? - Ultimate Home Life said,

    […] your approach to helping your dog re-hydrate and replenish those lost electrolytes, here’s a DIY Gatorade-alternative recipe for dogs that you can try out for […]

Leave a Reply

