Very strange day (JG Thirlwell at the Whitney museum, as part of Christian Marclay’s show)

September 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm (Uncategorized)

Ok, yesterday takes the cake in terms of crazy timing, things that were meant to be (for some strange reason?), and just all around very good luck.

I went to the Whitney Museum yesterday with the intent of seeing the Charles Burchfield show — and only the Charles Burchfield show. As I walked into the museum, I was lecturing myself about how I had so much to get done that afternoon and I shouldn’t get sidetracked and look at the other exhibits. I had an hour to spend in the museum, tops. I was going to have to be efficient and organized about this.

I cruise over to the corporate membership non-line (thanks, SVA!) and get my ticket. Here is weird thing #1: I start chatting with the ticket guy, who clearly didn’t want to chat with me or anyone else, and really just wanted to be left alone. Even while I was making stupid conversation with the guy, I was thinking, “Why am I doing this?” in my head, and yet I couldn’t stop. (To be fair, this lasted a good 45 to 60 seconds tops.)

I’m just about to leave the ticket counter and I hear the voice of an older man speaking to the ticket guy in the next line over. He’s saying “Thirlwell… JIM Thirlwell… JG Thirlwell…” and I sort of chuckle to myself that wow, neat, that ticket guy must have the exact same name of my favorite musician and isn’t it a strange, small world and…

Wait. Suddenly I realize: It’s the guy I sat next to at the Steroid Maximus show. This is completely insane. I sort of tap him on the shoulder and he turns around and remembers me and next thing I know, we’re headed to the 4th floor to see Thirlwell perform as part of the Marclay exhibit. We got there just in time.

Just a couple of things:

1. Bang up job publicizing the performance, Whitney Museum. When I went to your website on Friday morning to check your hours, I didn’t see any mention of it; in the lobby, there wasn’t so much as a xeroxed sheet of paper letting visitors know that anything was happening on the 4th floor. The ticket guy that Al was talking to didn’t even know what he meant (he did know that there was some sort of performance somewhere in the museum, but had no idea what the performer’s name was), which is why Al had to say his name a bunch of times and then we both had to explain what it was we were looking for. Totally weird.

2. You realize that had I been at the museum 1 minute earlier or later, I never would have known about this, right? It was some crazy good luck that lead me there. I’m not a Marclay fan, and being in the rush that I was, I most likely would have just skipped the 4th floor in favor of spending more time on the 3rd. But instead, I wound up spending about half an hour with maybe 50 other people, hearing this incredible score. That was amazing.

3. My phone was dying. I wasn’t prepared. But this is the best I could get:

2 Comments

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    That’s unfortunate that it wasn’t better publicized, but good for you that all the fateful dominos fell into place. Maybe you could sign up for a mailing list for the musician you like? I imagine they’d be better at plugging their gigs.

    P.S. When are you going to have a show at the Whitney?

  2. amywilson said,

    hope springs eternal! soon! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

