Paging Kathleen Hanna

February 18, 2011 at 6:59 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m not sure what else to do. I’m trying to track down Kathleen Hanna (of Bikini Kill/Le Tigre/Riot Grrrl fame) to invite her to be in a show with me, of artists and their “mentors.” Of course, she doesn’t have to say yes… but what’s frustrating is that I’m not sure that the emails/facebook messages I’ve sent are actually reaching her. Is her absence of a response to be interpreted as a no, or does it mean that I’m sending it to the wrong address?

Who knows. But hey Kathleen: here’s to hoping you have a Google Alert set up with your name on it, and that you see this. And that if you do, you contact me (amywilson at gmail), because I think it would be really amazing to have you be a part of this. Or that you say no, so that I move on and know to contact someone else.

Hi Kathleen,

I don’t know you and you don’t know me, but I’m writing to see if you’d be interested in being in an upcoming show at the School of Visual Arts gallery in Chelsea this fall.

It’s a show of all-female alumni, and I was asked to be in it. The trick is, we’ve been asked to also include the work of someone who has been a mentor of ours, and I thought of you. Even though I don’t know you, I’ve been very inspired by your work since I was in college (we’re about the same age). The work I will have in the show is a collection of artist’s books I’m making that are directly inspired and related to riot grrrl zines I collected as a teenager and in my early 20s.

So I thought it would be a perfect fit. You don’t really have to do anything other than loan some zines, or if you want to be more involved than that, that would be great too – we can figure it out.

My site is here: http://www.amy-wilson.com/
if you want to see my work.

Anyway, I hope you will consider this!

– Amy

Leave a Reply

