Really big drawing

June 11, 2011 at 9:54 am (Uncategorized)

This is what I’m working on right now:

Oy, this photo is awful. But I’m working on a multi-panel, very large drawing, and loving it.

One thing, we’re leaving for VT for a few days tomorrow, and at first I was sad because I was going to miss working on it. And then I realized that

I

have to

get out

of

here.

Like, I don’t know what happened, although I suspect that last week’s brutal heatwave had something to do with it. But good lord, all I know is that I’m exhausted and frustrated and really, really need a break. And I know that if I’m going to rally to finish this huge thing, I need that break now. My ability to focus is gone, I’m second-guessing everything, and that’s just not helpful. I need a reboot.

So, we’re out for four days. I’m taking a stack of books with me, and I want to do some writing, but I’m leaving my art supplies at home (even typing those words gives me anxiety… who am I kidding? I will probably pack some sort of emergency stash). I need to hike and swim and stare at trees for a few days. And then I’m going to come home and totally rock the hell out of this drawing.

Leave a Reply

