Dolls with souls update…

July 26, 2011 at 12:03 am (Uncategorized)

Well, it’s not the happy update I’d hoped for. But after casting 25 of them in plastic…

…and sanding them and spraying them with four coats of Bulldog spray adhesive and then painting them with enamel paint…

I dunno. I don’t like the way they’re turning out. The little chips and errors that looked amazing in the original clay model look like crap in plastic. And the paint… the paint just sits on the skin of the doll… there’s something not quite right about it. And what’s more, this is an awfully labor intensive process for something that I plan to make a gazillion of and sell for cheap. And I haven’t even gotten to handmaking the tiny dresses and tinier ghosts. This part is supposed to be the easy part.

Hmm. So I figured it was worth it to me to try and make it out of another material, just at least for argument’s sake, before I try to go further with the plastic. (I really like the plastic in its “natural,” all-white state… it’s just the finishing that’s not working for me. But then it becomes a different sort of piece if they’re not painted “flesh” color and wearing a dress, like my girls in my drawings are.)

I spent much of this (increasingly creepy) evening googling “doll making,” “doll clay,” “doll supplies,” and… just don’t. There’s a whole weird world out there of people who make alarmingly realistic newborn baby dolls and I’m sure to get nightmares based on what I saw. But the end result is that I ordered some more materials and have some more things en route to try and do this a different way while still using the same mold.

Hrm. Not the way I hoped to end today, but so it goes. New supplies arrive in a few days…

2 Comments

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    Why don’t you just tint the resin flesh color and stain the hair. Resin-based plastics are surprisingly porous (on a teeny-tiny level) and will take staining. That way the paint doesn’t have to “sit on top” but is soaked in. You can then go back in with acrylic for details and do a protective spray coat to finish.

  2. Andrew Thornton said,

    You could also mix a little bit of marble dust into your paint and give it a softer, more flesh-like appearance.

Leave a Reply

