Stringing for a cure

March 4, 2008 at 6:04 pm (art, blog, culture, personal)

One more quick friend-centric blog post and then back to the art…

Frequently commenter Andrew Thornton is doing a fundraiser for a cancer charity on his blog. Check out his offerings here. Andrew, along with being a very talented painter, also makes really amazing necklaces – including one that I own (he gave it to me as a very nice gift!) and love and wear all the time. I’m insanely picky with jewelry, but his work realy blows me away. It’s got a kind of bohemian/earthy/godmother slant to it, while also being very contemporary and different and not at all cliche. There’s nothing I wear that gets more (really positive!) comments.

My only hesitation in posting this is that I plan on bidding on these necklaces and now I just got myself some more competition. Ah well. It’s for a good cause.

1 Comment

  1. Andrew Thornton said,

    Thank you so much for all your kind words and for posting about the fundraiser! It really means a lot to me. I want to raise as much money to help Rachel reach and surpass her goal as possible. Breast cancer is a terrible disease that with proper care, screenings, and education can be prevented from spreading and hurting more of those whom we love.

    I wanted to provide an opportunity for folks to “get” while they “give” and be apart of the fight against breast cancer! Together, we can do great things! So bid with wild abandon, my friends!

    *Sorry Amy for encouraging the competition. 😉

Leave a Reply

