Update on the book, 7/05

July 5, 2008 at 9:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Sometimes I get stuck – like, really, really stuck, where I find myself just sitting in my studio, feeling overwhelmed and staring endlessly at my work. It becomes a place to hide in many ways – I recognize that spending time just looking at your work is important, so I use that as an excuse to just whittle away hours upon hours looking and thinking. And then, eventually, you reach a point of diminishing returns, where enough is enough. You just have to suck it up and get back to work.

That’s sort of where I’ve been for a few days on the book and the final kick I needed came in the form of new idea for a project I want to do… and of course, I need the space to be cleared out to do it, so that means that this project has to be finished first. And so, no more staring endlessly; I catch myself doing it and I yell at myself.

So, some pictures from today… more later, I think:


A bather on the beach. Behind her is…


A “container show” based on Art Positions.


Tiny brillo boxes on display.


Ok, it’s really hard to find works of art that I associate with Art Basel Miami Beach and can be reproduced at 1/4″ tall and can be cut out and glued in place. So you’ll have to take my word on this: It’s Paul McCarthy’s Chocolate Santa with Butt Plug… which isn’t actually accurate for the space (it was on display in the main convention center, not at Art Positions), but hey.


Tiny surfer, riding the waves.

1 Comment

  1. Bookmarks about Book said,

    […] – bookmarked by 5 members originally found by chucker on 2008-08-15 Update on the book, 7/05 https://amywilson.wordpress.com/2008/07/05/update-on-the-book-705/ – bookmarked by 1 members […]

Leave a Reply

